Print

Lute and Gamba

Lute and Gamba

Lute and Gamba

 

During the Renaissance the lute was regarded as the “Queen of Instruments” with the viola da gamba as a close relation. Organologists put stringed instruments such as the gamba in the same category as the lute family.

 

The Spanish variant of the lute, a straight-sided, guitar-like instrument, is known as the Vihuela de mano - or viola da mano in Italian. This meant an instrument of the viola family to be played by hand, plucking the strings with the fingers. In addition, there was the Vihuela de penola (a viola played with a plectrum) and the Vihuela de arco, which was played with a bow and held with the legs, as suggested by its name: Viola da Gamba. The only difference between the instruments is the manner in which the musician played on the strings.

 

The relationship between the lute and gamba is demonstrated chiefly in the way their characteristic tonal qualities complement each other, which with the right bowing technique can produce a magical blend of instrumental colours. The interwoven melodic voices take on a distinctive sound that will enchant any sensitive listener.

 

Many are the paintings depicting lovers expressing their feelings through the lute and viola da gamba and appearing to float together in a sphere of romantic timelessness.

 

John Dowland, the famous English lutenist and composer, favoured the combination of lute and viola da gamba in his chamber-music works, and used consorts of up to five (!) gambas together with the lute to express “deeply felt” emotions.

 

The popularity of the lute and viola da gamba was so great that they held a position of high status in the courts of Europe. The soloists playing these instruments were highly regarded and handsomely rewarded.

 

Alchemists and men of learning also favoured the congenial sounds of the lute and viola da gamba. Such music was thought to engender tranquillity and clear the mind after excessive mental strain.

 

I think these harmonizing and calming influences can still be beneficial today as an antidote to our cerebral lifestyle (desk- and computer-work, television, mobile phones, etc., non-stop use of electronic devices, increasing preoccupation with operating instructions, forms, passwords, etc …).

 

© Lutz Kirchhof, Weilburg 2015

Drucken

Laute und Gambe

Laute und Gambe

Laute und Gambe

 

Die Laute wurde in der Renaissance als „Königin der Instrumente“ angesehen, wobei die Viola da Gamba ein mit ihr eng verwandtes Instrument ist. Organologen ordnen Streichinstrumente wie die Gambe als Lauteninstrumente ein.

 

Die Spanische Variante der Laute, ein gitarrenähnliches Zargeninstrument wurde Vihuela de mano genannt – bzw. viola da mano in Italien. Man meinte damit ein mit der Hand gespieltes Violeninstrument, ihre Saiten werden mit den Fingern angeschlagen. Außerdem gab es die Vihuela de penola (mit einem Plektrum gespielte Viola) und Vihuela de arco, eine mit dem Bogen gespielte Viola, die dann auch den Namen Viola da Gamba (mit den Beinen gehaltene Viola) bekam. Der Unterschied der Instrumente wurde nur darin gesehen, wie der Spieler die Saiten berührte.

 

Die Verwandtschaft von Laute und Gambe zeigt sich aber vor allem in ihrer klanglichen Ergänzung, die - bei richtiger Strichtechnik! - zu einer bezaubernden Verschmelzung der Instrumentenfarben führen kann. Gemeinsam erzeugte Melodielinien erhalten so einen unverwechselbaren Klangcharakter, der die Herzen feinsinniger Zuhörer verzauberte.

 

In Gemälden findet man Liebespaare, die mit Laute und Viola da Gamba ihre Gefühle ausdrücken und gemeinsam in einer Sphäre romantischer Zeitlosigkeit zu schweben scheinen.

 

John Dowland, der berühmte englische Lautenist und Komponist, kombinierte in seinen Kammermusik-Kompositionen bevorzugt Laute und Viola da Gamba, wobei er bis zu fünf (!) Gamben mit der Laute konzertieren ließ und damit „tief empfundene“ Emotionen ausdrückte.

 

Die Beliebtheit von Laute und Viola da Gamba war sehr groß, so dass sie an Europäischen Höfen eine hervorragende Stellung bekamen. Die Solisten dieser Instrumente waren sehr angesehen und wurden königlich belohnt.

 

Aber auch Allchymisten und Gelehrte bedienten sich bevorzugt der angenehmen Klänge von Laute und Viola da Gamba. Ihre Musik sollte bei geistiger Überarbeitung zu Ausgeglichenheit und einem „aufgeräumtenGemüt geführt haben.

 

Ich denke, dass man diese harmonisierenden und beruhigenden Wirkungen auch heute, bei unserer kopflastigen Lebensweise (Schreibtisch- Computerarbeit, Fernsehen, Handy & Co., ständiges Bedienen von Geräten, inflationäre Beschäftigung mit Gebrauchsanweisungen, Formularen, Passwörtern ...) ganz gut gebrauchen kann...

 

© Lutz Kirchhof, Weilburg 2015