Print

Da Vinci Music

Da Vinci Music

Da Vinci Music

 

Lovers of lute and gamba music are a distinguished set!

Leonardo da Vinci’s intellectual development is closely linked with lute music.  Early in life, as a court musician in Milan, he is said to have played for the Duke Ludovico il Moro and been greatly admired for his skill as a lutenist. Among other things, he produced a wonderful image of a lute-playing angel, and among his manuscripts there is a lute constructed from the skull of a horse. The Spanish style of lute, the Vihuela da mano, was a favourite of his.

 

In music, as in portrait paintings, compositional elements reflecting universal principles and the regular patterns of the divine laws of nature, can give works a deep symbolic power. Listening, for instance, to the highly luminous and spiritual music of the Renaissance, one can be transported back to the world of Leonardo da Vinci and of his fantastic artistic creations.

 

Galileo Galilei was born into a family of lutenists. His father Vincenzo Galilei wrote a lute tutor that appeared in repeated editions, while his younger brother Michelangelo Galilei, who became Galileo’s charge after the death of Vincenzo, was renowned as a virtuoso lutenist and composer. After a series of engagements in Poland, he settled in Munich where he was employed in the court chapel of the Elector Maximilian I and lived for the rest of his life. Three of his children also became lutenists! He maintained intensive correspondence with his brother and shared with him a world of intellectual freedom and creative inspiration.

 

Many other great thinkers could be named who have been influenced by the music of the lute and indeed the gamba, too: the mathematician Peter Merseen who was permitted by lutenists, among others, to square the circle on their instruments, Johannes Kepler who converted his calculations into music, Robert Fludd in whose Temple of Music the lute features as a basic element, Johann Sebastian Bach who composed numerous pieces for the lute and viola da gamba and who found in Sylvius Leopold Weiss - lutenist at 

the Court of Dresden - the one colleague he could make music with on an equal footing, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe whose father may have been one of the last lutenists of former times … the list could go on for ever.

 

The common denominator among all these personalities is an air of intellectual refinement and exceptional individual ingenuity.

 

While listening to Quiet Music for the Lute and Viola da Gamba you can let your mind dwell on these individuals and their boundless powers of imagination - and perhaps allow yourself to float a while in their elevated spheres

 

© Lutz Kirchhof, Weilburg 2015

Drucken

Da Vinci Musik

Da Vinci Musik

Da Vinci Musik

 

Als Hörer von Lauten- und Gambenmusik bewegt man sich in einem illustren Kreis! 

Leonardo da Vincis  geistige Entwicklung ist eng mit Lautenmusik verbunden. Er soll in Mailand bereits früh als Musiker angestellt für Herzog Ludovico il Moro gespielt haben und für seine Lautenkunst sehr bewundert worden sein. Er hat u.a. die wunderschöne Darstellung eines Lautenengels erschaffen, und in seinen Manuskripten findet man die Konstruktion einer Laute, die aus einem Pferdeschädel hergestellt ist. Er mochte auch die spanische Form der Laute, die Vihuela da mano.

 

Ebenso wie Gemälde kann Musik nach seiner Auffassung universelle Prinzipien und Muster der göttlichen Naturgesetze beinhalten und damit eine tiefe Symbolkraft besitzen. Hört man z.B. die sehr lichtvolle spirituelle Renaissancemusik, kann man sich dabei die Welt des Leonardo da Vinci bzw. seiner fantastischen Kunstwerke vorstellen.

 

Galileo Galilei wuchs in einer Lautenistenfamilie auf. Sein Vater Vincenzo Galilei verfasste eine mehrfach neu aufgelegte Lautenschule und sein jüngerer Bruder Michelangelo Galilei, der nach dem Tod Vincenzos unter Galileos Obhut stand, wurde als Lautenvirtuose und -komponist berühmt. Nach Engagements in Polen ließ er sich in München nieder, wo er an der Hofkapelle des Kurfürsten Maximilians I. angestellt wurde und bis zu seinem Tod lebte. Drei seiner Kinder wurden ebenfalls Lautenisten! Er stand in einem intensiven Briefwechsel mit seinem Bruder und teilte mit ihm eine Welt der geistigen Unabhängigkeit und kreativen Inspiration.

 

Es wären noch viele Namen geistiger Größen zu nennen, die von Lauten- und sicher auch Gambenmusik beeinflusst wurden; etwa der Mathematiker Pater Mersenne, der Lautenisten unter anderem zutraute die Quadratur des Kreises auf ihrem Instrument darzustellen, Johannes Kepler, der seine Berechnungen auch in Musik verwandelte, Robert Fludd, dessen Tempel der Musik als Basis eine Laute darstellt, Johann Sebastian Bach, der viel für die Laute und Viola da Gamba komponierte und als einzigen ebenbürtigen Musizierpartner den Dresdener Hoflautenisten Sylvius Leopold Weiss akzeptierte, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, dessen Vater wohl einer der letzten Lautenisten der alten Zeit gewesen sein dürfte... die Liste könnte noch lange fortgesetzt werden.

 

Gemeinsam ist allen diesen Persönlichkeiten eine verfeinerte geistige Grundhaltung und eine außergewöhnliche, individuelle Genialität.

 

Beim Hören von Stiller Musik für Laute und Viola da Gamba darf man sich diese Menschen und ihre grenzenlose Vorstellungskraft ins Bewusstsein rufen – und vielleicht ein wenig in ihren Sphären schweben... 

 

© Lutz Kirchhof, Weilburg 2015